Contact Your Rep About HB 594 Today!

Posted on: May 3, 2013

Texas Lawmakers Hear Testimony in Favor of Medical Marijuana Necessity Defense Legislation

Earlier this week the Public Health Committee heard HB 594 (affirmative defense for patients and protections for Medical Professionals). The testimony lasted over 2 hours. Watch it here.

Any House Bills not voted out of Committee by Monday, May 6th will DIE in that Committee. HB 594 was left pending. This is not unusual as they typically vote on a bill at a later, undetermined time. However, we NEED them to vote on it on or before Monday to ensure that the Bill does not die and can progress further in the Legislative Process.

Please email the following Representatives requesting that they act quickly and vote to approve this bill! If you are a Constituent in one of these Representative’s Districts, please be sure to make note of that as Constituents carry extra weight. See below for a sample email that you can send to them. Make sure to fill in their name and your information at the bottom. We urge you to contact them no later than May 3rd at noon.

Not sure who represents you? Find out here: http://www.house.state.tx.us/members/find-your-representative/

Rep. Lois Kolkhorst – Chair Woman – lois.kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Elliott Naishtat – Vice Chair / Author of HB 594 – Elliott.Naishtat@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Garnet Coleman – garnet.coleman@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Sarah Davis – sarah.davis@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Philip Cortez – philip.cortez@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Robert Guerra – bobby.guerra@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Susan King – susan.king@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Jodie Laubenberg – Jodie.laubenberg@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Nicole Collier – Nicole.collier@house.state.tx.us
Rep. Bill Zedler – Bill.Zedler@house.state.tx.us
Rep. J.D. Sheffield – j.d.sheffield@house.state.tx.us

If you are a Constituent in one of these Representative’s Districts, please be sure to make note of that as Constituents carry extra weight.

Sample Email:

Subject Line: Regarding HB 594 – Medical Affirmative Defense

Honorable Representative ____,

I would like to respectfully request that you vote to approve HB 594 before May 6th so that it may have the opportunity to move forward in the Legislative process to the Calendars Committee.

Thank you for your time and consideration.